Work is play…@ the Library

Thing #18 of 23: A look @ online tools

Posted on: August 2, 2010

I was able to access Zoho Writer using my gmail account information. I wasn’t familiar with these tools; however, I had used google docs a while back and found it to be similiar. 

According to the Welcome message from Zoho Writer, it has a new user interface designed for people on the go. This word processor (with all its apps) allows you to access all your documents online from any computer.  Its instant collaboration feature helps the user share documents with other users who are all able to view, edit,  and/or  save the information in real time.  

I played around a little and checked out some apps under the productivity tab. First I checked out “show”, and it  is the equivalent of a Microsoft powerpoint presentation. Since I’m familiar with that program, I decided to look for some public shows I can use to introduce Zoho docs and Google docs to my students. I found them and bookmarked them on my delicious account.

I guess now its all coming together for me. It took 18 THINGS for me to see how all THINGS can be connected…and how their connectedness can assist my lessons in the library. Moreover, I can now expose my students to these tools that I know they will easily and eagerly implement in their classroom projects and in their cyberworlds.

I’ve included the links to the google docs & zoho docs presentations:

Zoho Docs   http://show.zoho.com/public/sathisht/Zoho+Docs

Google Docs  http://show.zoho.com/public/jantrim/Using-Google-Docs-ppt

 

 

  

Leave a comment

My Posts by Month

August 2010
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031