Work is play…@ the Library

Thing #23 of 23: Creative Commons & Wrapping It Up!

Posted on: August 14, 2010

Creative Commons  is a non-profit organization devoted to expanding the works available for others to build upon legally and to share. I’m sure I had a couple of assignments on this topic in my library science classes, but just don’t recall. Here, I viewed several takes on  the 23 Things workshop. Modifications were made to each one to meet the needs of the participants–be it librarians, college students, teachers, etc. I was dissappointed I couldn’t find one for students. Maybe I need to keep searching…if not I might have to modify one from the Creative Commons site that will suit them. We’ll see.

WRAP UP…or answer/reflect on my 23 THINGS experience…so that I can get credit  ; )

1. What were your favorite discoveries or exercises on this learning journey?  I really enjoyed creating & updating my blog. It was a bit intimidating at first, but there’s lots of help out there  (on the web) to facilitate the process. On a personal level, I’m so glad I finally “discovered” delicious. It has made my life so much easier.
2. How has this program assisted or affected your lifelong learning goals?  This workshop helped me realize I must keep an open mind if I wish to be a lifelong learner. Prior to signing up for this summer workshop, I had considered doing this program before but always found an excuse not to do it.  I overcame my fear of  “oh, so much technology”, I followed  through…and now I’m very content I finally did it!
3. Were there any take-a-ways or unexpected outcomes from this program that surprised you? Some THINGS took longer to do than I expected.
4. What could we do differently to improve upon this program’s format or concept? Maybe have some chatting incorporated to a couple of THINGS.
5. If we offered another discovery program like this in the future, would you choose to participate? Most definitely!!!!

6. How would you describe your learning experience in ONE WORD or in ONE SENTENCE, so we could use your words to promote CSLA learning activities?  Technology + Learners = Innovative Mind!

P.S. I stopped watching the video on copyright law because I could not follow it…it’s very choppy.

1 Response to "Thing #23 of 23: Creative Commons & Wrapping It Up!"

Congratulations! You are finished. BTW, I read about a 23 Things activity for students, but I don’t save the bookmark. I’ll look for the site and share if and when I find it.

Leave a Reply

My Posts by Month

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

